You are here

ECT*-APCTP Joint Workshop: From Rare Isotopes to Neutron Stars

Registration closed 20/08/2015.


Ines Campo
+39 0461 314721
Monday, 14 September, 2015 - 09:00 to Friday, 18 September, 2015 - 12:00
ECT* Conference room

Various heavy ion accelerators are under construction, including FAIR and RAON. A deep understanding of rare isotope physics is essential for a microscopically founded modelling of the astrophysical problems related to dense matter in the universe, as it can be found in neutron stars and black holes. A progress in this subject is expected to shed light on our understanding of new isotopes and compact stars. In this workshop, we shall discuss the expected “QCD phase structure from the vacuum to nuclear matter to compact stars” and the future possibilities of joint multidisciplinary researches, in particular, among scientists from APCTP and ECT* member countries. Main theme of this workshop includes the structure of nuclear forces in the regime hitherto unexplored in highly neutronrich systems leading to potential new physics. The main subjects of this meeting will cover neutron rich exotic nuclei and neutron curst, r-process and heavy elements, RIB nuclear data and neutron star core structure, and gravitational waves from merging neutron star binaries.

Partially supported by the Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics (APCTP)

Registration period: 
13 Jul 2015 to 19 Aug 2015


Francesca Gulminelli LPC and University of Caen - France
Chang-Hwan Lee Dept. of Physics - Pusan National University - Busan
Yongseok Oh Dept. of Physics - Kyungpook National University - Daegu
Jürgen Schaffner-Bielich Goethe University - Germany


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
CoraggioLuigiIstituto Nazionale di Fisica NucleareItaly
GorielyStephaneUniversité Libre de BruxellesBelgium
GulminelliFrancescaLPC and University of CaenFrance
GulminelliFrancescaUniversite de Caen NormandieFrance
HAEUN JASoongsil UniversityKorea, Seoul
ItagakiNaoyukiYukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics, Kyoto UniversityJapan
JérômeMargueronInstitut de Physique Nucléaire de LyonFrance
KimMyungkukPusan National UniversityRep. of Korea
KimYoungmanRISP, IBSKorea
KwakKyujinUlsan National Institute of Science and TechnologyKorea
KwonYoungshinSoongsil UniversityRepublic of Korea
LeeChang-HwanPusan National UniversityKorea
LeeSu HoungYonsei UniversityKorea
LeeYujeongPusan National UniversityKorea
LimYeunhwanInstitute for Basic ScienceS. Korea
LONGWen HuiSchool of Nuclear Science and Technology, Lanzhou UniversityChina
OhYongseokKyungpook National UniversityKorea
PapakonstantinouPanagiotaIBS / RISPSouth Korea
RezzollaLucianoInstitute for Theoretical PhysicsGermany
RhoMannqueCEA SaclayFrance
RosswogStephanStockholm UniversitySweden
Schaffner-BielichJürgenGoethe UniversityGermany
ShinEunkyoungKyungpook National UniversityKorea
VerdeGiuseppeIPN Orsay & INFN CataniaFrance/Italy
YakhshievUlugbekInha UniversitySouth Korea
YangGhil-SeokSoongsil UniversitySouth Korea
ZhangShuangquanSchool of Physics, Peking UniversityChina