You are here

QCD challenges in pp, pA and AA collisions at high energies

Registration closed 13/02/2017.


Gian Maria Ziglio
+39 0461 314725
Monday, 27 February, 2017 - 09:00 to Friday, 3 March, 2017 - 13:00
ECT* Conference room

This workshop addresses the discussion of QCD processes for which data have recently become available at the ongoing RHIC and LHC programmes, or are expected in the near future. Whereas inclusive processes with a hard scale can be calculated within pQCD in LO and NLO, calculations of exclusive processes are relatively new. They are presently being developed by formulating effective models consistent with QCD, such as for example for the spin structure of the pomeron. The linear description of QCD dynamics based on DGLAP and BFKL evolution equation can be tested by particle production data in $pp$, $pA$ and $AA$ collisions. At low values of Bjorken-$x$, the transition to a nonlinear behaviour of QCD dynamics as expressed in gluon saturation effects is expected. Moreover, particle production in $pA$ and $AA$ collisions is modified by shadowing effects and propagation in the medium, and a unified approach to incorporate these effects remains a challenge.

Registration period: 
01 Dec 2016 to 12 Feb 2017


Guillermo Contreras Nuno Czech Technical University
Victor Goncalves Universidade Federal de Pelotas
Rainer Schicker Physikalisches Institut Universiaet Heidelberg
Antoni Szczurek Institute of Nuclear Physics PAN


Last nameFirst nameInstitutionCountry of Institution
BabiarzIzabelaRzeszów UniversityPOLAND
BeckHansUniversity of HeidelbergGermany
BierlichChristianLund UniversitySweden
BorissovAlexanderPusan National University, staying at CERNSouth Koprea and Switzerland
BoussarieRenaudIFJ PANPoland
BrozMichalFaculty of Nuclear Sciences and Physical Engineering, Czech technical universityCzech republic
BrunaElenaINFN TorinoItaly
BurscheAlbertUniversita di CagliariItaly
CepilaJanCzech Technical University in PragueCzech Republic
ChristiansenPeterLund UniversitySweden
ChungSuh-UrkBrookhaven National LaboratoryUSA
CisekAnnaUniversity of RzeszowPoland
ContrerasGuillermoCVUTCzech Republic
GoncalvesVictorFederal University of PelotasBrazil
Jalilian-MarianJamalBaruch College, CUNYUSA
JenkvoszkyLászlóBogolyubov ITP, National Ac. Sc. of UkraineUkraine
KyciaRadosławCracow University of TechnologyPoland
LebiedowiczPiotrInstitute of Nuclear Physics Polish Academy of SciencesPoland
LuszczakMartaUniversity of RzeszowPoland
MachadoMagnoInstituto de Física - UFRGSBrazil
MaciulaRafalInstitute of Nucera Physics PANPoland
MarquetCyrilleEcole PolytechniqueFrance
MoreiraBrunoUniversidade de São Paulo (USP)Brazil
NachtmannOttoInst. for Theoretical Physics, University of HeidelbergGermany
NavarraFernandoInstitute of Physics - University of Sao PauloBrazil
PancheriGiuliaINFN Frascati National laboratoryItaly
RangelMuriloUniversidade Federal do Rio de JaneiroBrazil
SchaeferWolfgangInstitute of Nuclear Physics PANPoland
schickerrainerPhys. Inst.Germany
SilvaPaulo V R GState University of CampinasBrazil
Soto OntosoAlbaFrankfurt Institute for Advanced StudiesGermany
SpieringDiegoUniversidade de São Paulo (USP)Brazil
StaszewskiRafałInstitute of Nuclear Physics Polish Academy of SciencesPoland
SumberaMichalNucleat Physics Institute ASCRCzech Republic
SzczurekAntoniInstitute of Nuclear Physics PAN, Rzeszow UniversityPoland
TrzebinskiMaciejInstitute of Nuclear Pysics PANPoland
WernerKlausUniversity of NantesFrance