You are here

Machine Learning and Data Analysis for Nuclear Physics


Barbara Gazzoli
+39 0461 314763
Monday, 22 June, 2020 - 14:00 to Friday, 3 July, 2020 - 18:00
ONLINE | Special edition

The TALENT initiative, Training in Advanced Low Energy Nuclear Theory, aims at providing advanced and comprehensive training to graduate students and young researchers in all aspects of low-energy nuclear theory. TALENT offers intensive three-week courses on a rotating set of topics.  General information on TALENT and past courses can be found at

 This year, due to the COVID-19 pandemic we offer a fully online variant of the course on: Machine Learning and Data Analysis for Nuclear Physics It will be held via the  ECT* in Trento, Italy,  from June 22 to July 3, 2020. The principal instructors will be  

  1. Daniel Bazin (MSU/NSCL/FRIB), 
  2. Morten Hjorth-Jensen (MSU/NSCL/FRIB), 
  3. Michelle Kuchera (Davidson College), 
  4. Sean Liddick (MSU/NSCL/FRIB), and 
  5. Raghuram Ramanujan (Davidson College). 

 Videos of the learning material, programs and all digital learning material will be made available to participants before the lectures start in a dedicated Classroom on Microsoft Teams. During the week of June 22-26 and June 29 to July 3, we will have online live lecture sessions from 2 pm to 4 pm Central European Time (CET), with questions and answers sessions from 5 pm to 6 pm CET. The standard variant of this course, with in-person attendance is postponed to the summer of 2021. For applications and more information for the online TALENT course, please go to the website of the European Center for Theoretical Studies in Nuclear Physics and Related Areas, ECT*. The link with more information and registration is at material with schedule etc. will be  available at

Registration period: 
31 Dec 2019 to 31 May 2020


Daniel Bazin Department of Physics and Astronomy and National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory Michigan USA
Morten Hjorth-Jensen Michigan State University (USA) and University of Oslo (Norway)
Michelle Kuchera Davidson College (USA)
Sean Liddick Michigan State University (USA)
Raghuram Ramanujan Davidson College (USA)